Discuss Ring main consisting of only spurs in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, this is my first time on this forum so I hope I'm in the correct section.

I've come across a strange socket wiring set up in my own home. I was baffled at first as to how at the consumer unit I had a ring main set up (2x 2.5 T&E fused at 32A) but radial setup at each socket (1 cable).

What appears to have been installed is a ring of junction boxes with every socket spurred off of this ring. This was obviously done to replace the house's previous wiring whilst utilising the existing conduit routes (only space for 1 cable).

I know that this is not acceptable by today's standards so my question is: Was this ever an acceptable method? Judging by the occasional use of green earth sleeving (if not left bare) this was done in the 70's.

This isn't uncommon and is given various monicas. One is by way of a ring final on the upper level with radials to the lower level or by a ring final to junction boxes and then radials to each point of utilisation.

This isn't uncommon and is given various monicas. One is by way of a ring final on the upper level with radials to the lower level or by a ring final to junction boxes and then radials to each point of utilisation.
2.5 radial feeding more than one current using point on a 32 amp OCPD isnt acceptable unless its MIMS

They are only feeding one point, it isn't uncommon they are often called spider rings.
Ahh yes, my mistake, thought it was 2 legs feeding a JB each which then spurred off to several sockets. I am blurry eyed from too much Barley, hops, yeast and water

Edit: if I could vote my own post dumb I would so feel free too

Last edited:
They are only feeding one point, it isn't uncommon they are often called spider rings.

Is this so that the downstairs sockets are on a ring and the upstairs are all spared from the downstairs circuit, rather than having 2 circuits?