Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Running of distribution cables in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    Hi, I'm looking for some advice regarding running of distribution cable around a warehouse. My client is having a new 200A supply installed but this will be on a different wall approx 20m away from the existing 100A supply. I need to run a cable from the new supply to the existing busbar chamber and I'm looking for advice on which cable and containment methods would be best. There are a cables, conduits and pipes I would need to get over on the way. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Pictures could help. Sounds like a cable tray job as that can ride up and down over obstacles.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  3. LankyWill
    Offline

    LankyWill Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northants
    Have you calculated the correct cable size? If it's in a industrial setting, swa is the go to cable.
     
  4. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Mark, with respect we will need a lot more information than what you have provided so far.
    A photograph or several would be useful
    What type of warehouse what materials are kept there?
    What is the building constructed of?
    Why is the new supply so far away from the existing?
    Will the existing supply be completely removed
    Is the existing busbar chamber large enough to cope with 50% more loading

    Lots more questions but can't think of them at this time.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    I haven't got that far yet to be honest. I've just had a look at the job. WPD are proposing to install a 200A CT panel but it's on a wall 90 degrees to the existing. I was thinking SWA but I was wondering about the bending radius on the internal bend as the cable I'd imagine is going to be 70mm and how I would get around this internal 90
     
  6. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    Sorry there isn't much information to go on. I'll try and upload some pics. Thanks for your replies by the way.

    IMG_5747.JPG

    IMG_5748.JPG

    IMG_5749.JPG

    IMG_5750.JPG

    IMG_5751.JPG

    IMG_5752.JPG

    IMG_5753.JPG

    IMG_5754.JPG
     
  7. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
  8. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    Yes these are the existing installation pics. The existing incomer is to the left of the brown door. The proposed new incomer is to be installed about 10m across to the right of the brown door on the wall 90 degrees. Where the green fuel tank is currently.
     
  9. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    A pair of bends on each wall can kill bending problems,you could mount it on a tray with a step up or down in the corner
     
  10. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Beat me too it Des.
     
  11. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Mark, you still haven't confirmed that the existing will be removed, sorry to keep on Mate, I guess the question should be will you be doing a complete rehash of the distribution switch gear?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2017
  12. westward10
    Online

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Delete.
     
  13. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    What would you fix the tray to? I'm not sure the metal panelling would be very strong for fixing to and the block work would be to low and liable to damage with forklifts around
     
  14. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    The existing 100a incomer will be removed and the existing bus bar chamber uprated
     
  15. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    The brickwork looks favorite to me, hasn't bothered the gas meter people has it? You could always use Metal Trunking as a way of getting from A to B
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  16. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    That's true, although there is racking along the block work and there's a good chance of the cable being crushed by forklifts loading and unloading the racking
     
  17. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Wouldn't be much of a fork lift driver if he hit the racking and the cable, have to be going some to crush a 70mm2 SWA
     
  18. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    Ok. Thanks for all your advice. It's very much appreciated. I've just been reading through the WPD paperwork and it specifies that "The tails should be Tri-rated cable" Does anyone know if SWA is classed as Tri-rated?
     
  19. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Trunking it will be then, does that answer your question? Mark you need to take stock, do you think in all honesty you are up to doing this work.
     
  20. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    It confirms what I already had in mind to an extent. I thought I would ask others their advice incase there was a better way. Why would I not be up to doing this work Pete?
     
  21. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Some of the questions you have asked, I really didn't intend to be rude or disrespectful Mark
     
  22. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    Obviously you have a better idea of any possible issues with any of our suggestions because you know the layout first hand

    From what I can see,you have a lot of blockwork to play with on the door wall, perhaps you could make use of that lower wall by sitting it on the top of the blocks (not sure if you need to pass that steel upright)
     
  23. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    :)
     
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
  24. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    There are obstacles galore Des. It's not a straight run by any stretch of the imagination. I haven't got the most experience with tray and trunking so was hoping for some inspiration!! I'll work it out!!
     
  25. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    Of course you will,although at times its nice to confirm that others have no more inspiration than what you already possessed in the first place :)
     
    • Like Like x 3
  26. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    How about under the floor, or outside buried or on the wall?
     
  27. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    tri rated singles in galv. trunking then. some nice metal crunching for you.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  28. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    There is normally a H beam steel above the brick wall on its side in this type of construction. The cable could be laid in this and girder clipped.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  29. Ian1981
    Online

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Cable basket is much easier to install than Tray in my opinion , can be easily cut with large bolt cutters and bent into shape, angles are held in position with fixing clamps.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  30. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    Mark if they are fitting a CT chamber are you sure the Tri rated is not just from the CTs to the meter?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  31. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    This is what the paperwork says

    IMG_5765.JPG
     
  32. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    Ask them for clarification Mark, I've done plenty of these and have never used tri-rated, in fact EDF specifically say not to use tri-rated for the meter because of problems with tightening up the terminal on the tri-rated cables.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  33. Mark1977
    Offline

    Mark1977 EF Member

    Location:
    Bristol
    I think that's a good idea as I read the same thing on another DNO's website
     
  34. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    Also check about isolators, you will need one as a single point of isolation probably above the new head before the ct chamber, not sure if you need one after it as it's a 20M run, then one before the new Busbar chamber. 3 x 200Amp isolators push the price up a bit! Best check with the DNO see what they want.
     
  35. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    I would have thought that after the DNOs meter what you do is your own business, design it properly no problems.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  36. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    Your right Pete, it wouldn't be the DNOs decision. I think just another isolator before the busbar would suffice.
     
  37. freddo
    Online

    freddo Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Devon
    Surely the cables will be in crimp lugs to attach to the bolt terminals in the cutout? Much easier to feed through the CTs than standard tails.
     
  38. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    CT chambers have solid bars. IMG_5660.PNG

    You don't thread the cables through the CTs anymore.

    Never installed tri-rated in a CT chamber normally either a swa or normal singles. Only ever worked in London/Essex though so it might be different elsewhere.
     
  39. freddo
    Online

    freddo Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Devon
    Interesting, the last 4 I did all went to the cutout fuses. I've never seen on like that before. Perhaps not used often in this part of the country.
     
  40. Billsays
    Offline

    Billsays Regular EF Member

    Location:
    Essex
    The one in the photo is a Ryefield and I know the Blakely is the same, I've never seen any other type! Must be regional.
    That's why I like this site, every days a school day!:smiley:
     
  41. spinlondon
    Offline

    spinlondon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Harlow Essex
    UKPN won't allow tri rated cables for CT chambers either.
     
  42. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    Why would the length of the run require an extra isolator? It would require overcurrent protection if it's over 3m certainly,
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Running distribution cables Forum Date
Domestic Running a radial circuit in bedroom. He DIY Electrical Forum Aug 29, 2017
Running Ethernet cable alongside SWA. Electrical Forum Aug 17, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job