Discuss ryefield board confusion in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
i am only a second year apprentice so please bear this in mind if this question comes across as stupid..

i am currently working on a site where one property (old pub) is being converted into 8 seperate flats, and at the minute we are working on the power distrobution to each individual flat, and this is where my question arises. we are installing a 9 way ryefield board in order to split the supply and to fuse each flat at 60A. my question is that instead of installing this board (which has cost nearly £800) why not just install a standard 3 phase board and put the supply to each flat on a 63A mcb or rcbo? I have already asked the sparky who im working with but his only answer is that thats the way weve been told to do it so thats the way we do it.

thanks in advance for any answers and apologies if there is an obvious answer that im missing.

Welcome to the forum :)

If you are on an active course then it may benefit you to apply to join our Trainee section where we have selected mentors to help you and other trainee's at a similar level, its not a requirement but it would be a good opportunity for you.

i am only a second year apprentice so please bear this in mind if this question comes across as stupid..

i am currently working on a site where one property (old pub) is being converted into 8 seperate flats, and at the minute we are working on the power distrobution to each individual flat, and this is where my question arises. we are installing a 9 way ryefield board in order to split the supply and to fuse each flat at 60A. my question is that instead of installing this board (which has cost nearly £800) why not just install a standard 3 phase board and put the supply to each flat on a 63A mcb or rcbo? I have already asked the sparky who im working with but his only answer is that thats the way weve been told to do it so thats the way we do it.