Discuss Safe isolation of supply's for trade test in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm currently a 4th year apprentice waiting to undertake his trade test this week. The part I am sitting is safe isolation and I was looking for some advice regarding the test. I have attached below the information I have been given. I was just wondering if somebody could confirm for me that local isolation will mean I have to lock off and isolate a circuit at the the isolator opposed to at the DB?

Safe Isolation of Supplies

Section D (30 minutes)
Skill activity

This section will test your ability to carry out an isolation safely on various circuits.

While under observation, you will be required to demonstrate how to safely isolate circuits or items of equipment to verify that they are safe to work on.

You must use the Safe Isolation for Dead Working Process (example below). The passmark for this section is 100%. However, in the event you fail to follow the correct procedure on one of the four circuits you will be given an automatic resit.

Process:

The examiner will ask you to isolate 4 items
1. Full Installation
2. Single Phase
3. Three Phase
4. Local Isolation

Hi all. I'm currently a 4th year apprentice waiting to undertake his trade test this week. The part I am sitting is safe isolation and I was looking for some advice regarding the test. I have attached below the information I have been given. I was just wondering if somebody could confirm for me that local isolation will mean I have to lock off and isolate a circuit at the the isolator opposed to at the DB? Can you come back with a reply to the question s I asked earlier, or have you got it sorted.

Safe Isolation of Supplies

Section D (30 minutes)
Skill activity

This section will test your ability to carry out an isolation safely on various circuits.