Discuss Saying hi, and asking lighting question... in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the forum.

This is a bit different - I'm not an electrician, but I'm working on a lighting project that might be interesting to electricians, so thought I'd come here to find out if it is (and apologies if it's not).

I'll make a post in the lighting section to see if anyone has opinions on the project, which aims to simplify lighting maintenance in some situations.

Looking forward to learning from you all!

David

It looks like my post got deleted.

Does anyone know why that would be? I'm asking for feedback for a project that may be interesting & useful to electricians, so I think it's relevant.

I'm certainly not selling anything... as it doesn't exist yet :D

Are you able to tell us what your idea is? I'm also interested but it sounds like there's not much point trawling through all the different sections trying to find the details.

Sure - I think the mods removed my previous explanation and link to it from here. Would be good to know why it was deleted, or where it was moved to.

The basic concept is a lighting system that enables the maintenance location for light fittings to be in a separate location to the fittings themselves, making maintenance easier for hard to reach lights.

E.g. light fittings in soffits, LEDs & drivers indoors in a cupboard.

Another example would be lights above stairs, with LEDs & drivers in a nearby room / cupboard to allow easy access for maintenance.

It could also be used for normal ceiling lighting where the occupant is elderly or disabled, so unable to reach the ceiling to change bulbs, but wants to do it themselves rather than relying on external help.

The light fittings are also electricity free, so could be useful in hazardous areas.