Discuss Should I start working or carry on with education? in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I'm currently studying C&G 2365 and 17th edition and I have no experience at all, I'm not sure whether to carry on with education after this year or if I should jump into finding an employer which is just a whole another story. I've been looking for ages for an employer who could take me on while I'm studying so I can try out what I've learnt into practice. Any tips and advice is highly appreciated, thanks for readying!

Hi HS - Building up work experience is a great thing to balance the study. I would make a list of all local electrical businesses (cps register, google search, vans driving about) and contact them. I'd also suggest you look for a mentor to help you word the email, script a conversation etc. Often you only get 30 seconds to grab someone's attention. Be hopeful that your contact will trigger one of them to give a keen hard working person some jobs to do !

Hi HS - Building up work experience is a great thing to balance the study. I would make a list of all local electrical businesses (cps register, google search, vans driving about) and contact them. I'd also suggest you look for a mentor to help you word the email, script a conversation etc. Often you only get 30 seconds to grab someone's attention. Be hopeful that your contact will trigger one of them to give a keen hard working person some jobs to do !

Thanks will do so! I've been relying on my college to give me some work experience but from what it seems they won't be giving it out to everyone which worried me