Discuss Should my integrated fridge/freezer have an isolation switch? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

Big Grumper

Evening all,

I've recently moved into a newly-built house and my integrated fridge/freezer does not have a separate isolation switch. I've mentioned this twice to the Site Agent (the chap responsible for building ithe house and controlling the subbies) and he's played it down, pointing out that there's an on/off switch inside the fridge for the purpose of defrosting. I also know that the appliance's external on/off switch (with the socket) is located behind the appliance, which is no use to me as it is a built-in unit and completely inaccessible.

I'm no expert but a quick search of 'tinternet suggests that all kitchen appliances should have a separate isolation switch as part of building regs (Part P?) or the IEE (BS7671) regs.

Would somebody mind explaining in plain English what I should expect and, if I am correct in my concern, point me in the direction of the regs so that I can complain from a position of knowledge and strength?

Thanks.

Andrew.

You're correct to pick it up. It is considered bad practice, however i don't have any documents in front of me to support that theory, maybe someone else will come along.

Another question you should ask is how are you supposed to replace the fuse for the appliance if it was to blow?

If it's not answered I will check for you in about 2 hours when I get back.

Last edited:
usual practice is to fit socket for freezer where it is accessible, either above the freezer or in an adjacent cupboard. alternatively a D/P isolation switch which can be part of a grid switch assembly controlling several appliances.the magic word, as you rightly say, is accessible. no use trying to pull the unit out if it's on fire. suggest you put your concerns to the building control dept. that signed the job off.