Discuss Shower and cooker circuits in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hello I'm an apprentice but don't do any domestic work just commercial and industrial atm.
My question is if you don't have a design current for shower or cooker e.g. customer doesn't know what they are buying yet, how do you select your cable sizes and mcb rating?
This is purely for learning purposes.

Hello I'm an apprentice but don't do any domestic work just commercial and industrial atm.
My question is if you don't have a design current for shower or cooker e.g. customer doesn't know what they are buying yet, how do you select your cable sizes and mcb rating?

You would get the customer to pull their finger out, choose the product, and give you a design current.

Hi there is no way you can select the cable until you know what the design current is (Ib)
The design current will let you be able to select the appropriate protective device with the appropriate current rating (In)
Then you can select your suitably rated cable (Iz)
Ib<In<Iz

Hi there is no way you can select the cable until you know what the design current is (Ib)
The design current will let you be able to select the appropriate protective device with the appropriate current rating (In)
Then you can select your suitably rated cable (Iz)
Ib<In<Iz

That would pose a problem for most new builds, where appliances aren't included in the spec.

I would suggest 32A supply for a fixed cooking appliance, and a 45A supply for an electric shower (although if its a shower, they are normally supplied & installed).

That would pose a problem for most new builds, where appliances aren't included in the spec.