Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss Shower pump under bath in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. plumb1

plumb1 Guest

Hi Guys

First post here, I am a plumber and have been asked to change a shower pump which is currently sited under the bath. It is fed from a fused spur screwed to the floor under the bath. I want to know where I stand with the regs in regard to changing the pump and joining onto the fused spur, as I am pretty sure the fused spur shouldnt be under the bath. It is behind a bath panel and totally sealed around, but would this still be classed at zone 1 even though it is essentially boxed in?

Any advise would be great.

2. telectrix

telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

Top Poster Of Month

Business Name:
    Telectrix
    under the bath, accessible only with a tool or a key, is out of zones, so no problem.

3. prg13

prg13 Guest

please note that cicuit must also be rcd protected

4. plumb1

plumb1 Guest

Thanks guys, I was hoping that would be the case.

5. needasparks

needasparks Electrician's Arms

Agree with the others it is not a problem but i tend to try and site in a more accessable place like a cupboard or outside the bathroom. My personal view is so that isolation is easier for when they go wrong as they are permenately fed.
    Its only due to one in my old house had a problem with the flow switch which jammed on which burnt out the pump.