Discuss Signing off my work in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

L

Limbo76

Go easy on the new guy please:grin:
I know this has been covered countless times on here but I just want to clarify a couple of things.
I've just had an extension built and have done the wiring myself (4 sockets joined into the upstairs ring, 2 lights joined onto the upstairs lights and a mains powered smoke detector). The sockets and lights both require MWC's and the smoke detector an EIC (as it's a new circuit and not joined onto the lighting circuit). I've done the relevant tests and filled out the appropriate cert's but am I correct in saying that I need to be a member of a relevant scheme to be authorised to sign these?
I am qualified to HNC level in Electrical and have 17th Edition and 2391 qualifications but I am an industrial Electrical Engineer and so have never needed to join a scheme.
The last time I had an extension done (on the kitchen), I tested it all myself and got a plumber friend who was Part P registered (ridiculous, I know) to sign it off. However, he hasn't kept his registration up so I would now have to find a registered spark willing to sign off my work, if I can't legally do it myself.
As far as I remember, the building inspector didn't even look at my certificates for the kitchen extension last time, so I'm thinking maybe I could chance him doing the same this time round!

The lights and the sockets do not fall under the remit of part P and therefore do not need notifying.

The Smoke circuit as it is a new circuit does need notification

You say you have completed the MIEWC, but did you use a calibrated meter?? The same with the EIC for the smoke circuit. The smoke circuit should have been notified as per part P before you started the work so tecvhnically you have broken the law already.