Discuss Smart switch replacing old style in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

gaogier

-
DIY
Reaction score
hello

I first want to say I am autistic and have difficulties communicating so if any problems arise I am sorry.

I have no experiences with electrical stufff, but my mum was a school caretaker and knows enough to do simple things.

I often leave my bedroom light on all the time, costing loads of money. I have now gone out and brought a new smart light switch, so I can turn off the light anywhere. Only problem is that my current light switch has 2 cables, and the new one says it should be 3.

Does this mean I can’t have a smart switch? Have I got the wrong one?

This is the switch I brought Meross Wi-Fi Smart Light Wall Switch Neutral Wire Required Smart Wi-Fi Touch Switch Tempered Glass Touch-Screen Wireless Remote Control Compatible with Amazon Alexa & Google Home Timing Function Overload Protection No Hub required Via mobile App Support IOS and Android Fit for UK/EU MSS510H https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07GXHCJ1R/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_tai_hkZXBbRN9PRV0

hello

I first want to say I am autistic and have difficulties communicating so if any problems arise I am sorry.

I have no experiences with electrical stufff, but my mum was a school caretaker and knows enough to do simple things.

I often leave my bedroom light on all the time, costing loads of money. I have now gone out and brought a new smart light switch, so I can turn off the light anywhere. Only problem is that my current light switch has 2 cables, and the new one says it should be 3.

Does this mean I can’t have a smart switch? Have I got the wrong one?