Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

Discuss Smart switch wiring issues in the Looking for Domestic Electricians? area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Sean
    Offline

    Sean EF Member

    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Business Name:
    L2P Driving School
    Hi all looking for advice in solving a problem I have?.. I have installed a 3 gang WiFi smart switch. 2 of the switchs are working as they should. Wiring I have.. Black/red/earth x2..red/earth x1. How its working.. Earth's to back plate together.. Single red to L. 2 blacks to N. Other reds to L 1 & L 2..these are working fine... 3..empty...how do I get L 3 to work?.. Is there a loop way?.. Any advice would be great thanks..
     
  2. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Need more info. Was the original switch three gang, can you show any pics.
     
  3. Sean
    Offline

    Sean EF Member

    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Business Name:
    L2P Driving School
    Yes it was. I'm thinking am a wire short?..
     
  4. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Need more info like some pics of the connections at the switch.
     
  5. Sean
    Offline

    Sean EF Member

    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Business Name:
    L2P Driving School
  6. Andy-1960
    Offline

    Andy-1960 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Don’t suppose you took a photograph before you took the old switch off?

    Are you sure the black cables are neutrals? How were they connected at the old switch?
     
  7. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    the 3rd switch will not do anything because there's no cable coming out of L1.
     
  8. Sean
    Offline

    Sean EF Member

    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Business Name:
    L2P Driving School
    No I'm not sure they are neutrals but 2 switchs work.. I did try moving black wires. One left in N. Other to L1.. This left no power one way. And made no difference the other.. 20180210_101803.jpg 20180210_101803.jpg 20180210_101820.jpg
     
  9. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Have you got two way switching where one light is controlled by two switches.
     
  10. Sean
    Offline

    Sean EF Member

    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Business Name:
    L2P Driving School
    Yes but other switch doesn't do anything now..
     
  11. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    you only have 2 switches in the old configuration, 1 of which is 2 way. why do you need a 3rd switch?
     
  12. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    might be a little job for taffy super spark. AKA des56.
     
  13. westward10
    Offline

    westward10 In echoed steps I walk across an empty dream. Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    When you say it doesn't do anything now is that because of fitting the new switch. Bottom line is you need someone on site to verify what wire does what, sometimes we can say for certain but not in your case.
     
  14. Spoon
    Offline

    Spoon Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Lancashire
    I'm confused by this post.
    As @telectrix@telectrix has stated in post #11. The existing config only has 2 switches.
     
  15. derek
    Offline

    derek Regular EF Member

    Location:
    South of England
    As far as I can tell from your pictures, you have 2 one way switched lights (one of which is in the next patress -fed from the back of the other light switch) and 1 two way switched light(s). It looks to me like there are is no neutral at that switch. I believe you may need a neutral for the switch to work. The two way light will need to be fixed so the other switch becomes redundant and the spare core sleeved g/y and connected to earth.
    I am only guessing though and I couldn't tell you for sure without actually being at the property.
    My advice would be to call in an electrician who can advise you further.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Smart switch wiring Forum Date
Help Wiring Lightwave Smart Switch Lighting Forum Feb 6, 2018
Sonoff wifi smart switch connection Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations Feb 6, 2018

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job