Discuss Sole Trader and Company "Director" at the same time? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

O

Octopus

Does anybody know if HMRC will allow you to be a Sole Trader and a Company Director in the same year.

The reason for asking is that I'm a Sole Trader, as is my mate, but on bigger jobs we work together, invoicing clients seperately.

I was wondering if we could retain our sole trader "roles" when working independently, but operate via a "LTD" company on the bigger jobs.

I'd appreciate any views and/or opinions.

you would have to form a limited company . file accounts with companies house annually and loads of other legal stuff needs serious consideration before forming ltd.

You can have a Limited company and act as a Sole Trader at the same time but the businesses need to be totally separate. The benefit in doing this could perhaps be to avoid needing to be VAT registered for one of the businesses. So you'd make the VAT registered one Limited and use the one turning over less cash or invoicing private customers (who can't claim vat back) as a Sole Trader.

An example is we have an accountant on tilersforums who is also a tiler (accountancy being fairly seasonal), he's VAT registered for his accountancy business but as his customers for his tiling business can't claim vat back and would have to pay 20% more (from jan, currently 17.5) than his competitors charge.

You can't have the same type of business for both though.

I'm not a legal or an accountant so do check with HMRC and or an accountant. I don't think you'd need legal advice, the accountant will know his business.

you could form a partnership, but you can't be a director of a partnership, only a partner. to be a director, you can only be director of a limited company, incorporated at Companies House

Does anybody know if HMRC will allow you to be a Sole Trader and a Company Director in the same year.