Discuss sole trader to limited in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hi guys at the moment im a sole trader doin abit of subbing to get experiance up
thinking of maybe goin limited in the future just wondering if some of you could shed abit of light for me.

is limited better then sole trader, benefits for each?
how do you set up a limited company? are there any requirements?

thanks

Hi mate speak to accountant or there are loads of internet firms that do it for you

you have to register your company with companies house its about £30 give or take

you will be the M.D. as well as a employee you can pay yourself a set weekly wage say and pay usual paye tax on that and class 1 NI also as your the M.D. when the company is in profit and the tax on its been paid i think you can pay yourself a dividend and i think 8% tax not deffo what percentage tax so dont take that as gospel what tax you pay and also i think you will pay extra NI on the profit

someone such as bill has good business knowledge i am like you mate only been looking into the differences
you can go on business link and they show you the differences positive and negative

if your employing people i think you will then need employers liability as well as public liability same as sole trader and professional indemnity insurance

and if you have employees you have to operate a paye system
your the boss and the employee lol even the tea maker but it sound good Managing Director
think if your ltd you have to have a chartered accountant but not deffo mate
there have been other similar posts on here use the search bar also business link and i think accountant will give hal hour free if they think they getting your business same with bank and you may also have to get a business bank account but again not deffo