Discuss Split Concentric Termination in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

catdog

-
Reaction score
I'm no expert on split concentric (assuming that's what this is)......But an earth clamp doesn't seem the best solution to this (also as the earth cores appear to be insulated!

This is for an eicr on a sub main but I'll have to do the remedial work at some stage.

Any advice on how to terminate this correctly?

Thanks!

1546696944971564378322765861338.jpg

That is concentric but not sure that clamp serves any purpose unless the insulation below it has been removed.

Nope doesn't look like it has been! I was just doing an initial check today but the sockets this isolator supplies are earthed buy must be via another means!!

That looks like the neutral part of the concentric cable exposed , sorry never terminated that my self but i agree with you thats certainly not the way to terminate any CPC

If that is split concentric which it probably is the outer neutral conductors should not be connected to earth, assuming this is the consumers installation.

If you have no slack on the cable you have a problem as those neutral conductors should be correctly enclosed.

Is there a gland specifically for split concentric then?
No you can either not gland provided it is correctly supported or put a stuffing gland in place. It is no different to terminating a standard cable but the cores have a different configuration. Have you not looked inside the switch-fuse.

Have you looked inside the switch normaly all the black are terminated into the neutral and the greens terminated into the earth , just wondering how the earth is terminated inside
Edit just seen westwards post , he beet me to it

Haven't looked inside yet! This was one of many issues found when fiing out paper work and before removing any covers! When I get back to it I'll send a pic of inside (partly don't want to open it!)

Thanks for reponses