Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. angel While you're here, woud you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

Discuss Stables with horses supply, power & lighting etc.. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    Hi all, I have never had to look into a job like this before but I have had an enquiry from a customer who is having a supply brought from the road to edge of his fields / property by the dno and he has to supply cabinet etc.. at a great cost for the mains !

    I have to look at a run of around 45 mtrs of s.w.a in a trench to stables, into a small consumer unit at one end of stables where horses will not be but just a storage area. Couple of sockets there adjacent to board, and all light switches there too out the way. They want lighting above the two stables where horses are resident and also floods front and rear outside plus a small sub out to another shed / tack room across the yard around 24 mtrs away. I am thinking a lot of armoured plus maybe a bit of conduit in stables to lights high level etc.. and rcbo cover but would 30mA be alright with livestock ?

    Also if board was TT'd with a rod outside away from stables by around 3 mtrs or more is that likely something you would go for ? Only issue I can see is that all around are other fenced fields that have electric fencing so is that likely an issue with the rod and fence earthing rods etc.. ?? never done something like this before.

    Also what protection / isolation device at start of mains to the main board?
    A time delayed RCD S type at 100mA or similar as thinking just a switch fuse wont be good enough.

    Thanks for any experienced thoughts.
     
  2. UKMeterman
    Offline

    UKMeterman Electrician's Arms

    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    you must remember horse like to shew thing just like a goat .
    were are the switches going to be for lighting in general.
    have you got a plan.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  4. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    The switches and socket outlets etc.. would all be in a separate area closed off from horses. You wouldn't believe the state of it at the moment ! Got some pics, flexes hanging next to horses faces all run from a petrol genny. If it's as horrendously difficult as it seems, I may just forget the job to be honest.
     
  5. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    upload_2017-12-7_22-45-45.png this might happen if don't get it wright.
     
  6. Wilko
    Offline

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    Hi - SS, a few late night thoughts ... I suggest a 100mA S and fuse at the cutout end and a 30mA one up front in the remote board. The rod is important, perhaps use stacked 15mm by 1200mm. I have used two sets indendantly wired as part of reliability etc. Cabling up high, gal conduit. Get them to agree to regular inspection checks cause it will get knocked about.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  7. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    Thanks chaps, I'm thinking it's beyond me, don't want any horror stories on me. Never as I said done anything like this and it's a bit of a learning curve that I wouldn't want to go wrong.
     
  8. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    SWA cable is best for the job through out the buildings.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    It's the rod bit and up front rcd S type and fuse setup that I'm unfamiliar with the most. Bit full on.
     
  10. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    did one many moons a go
    the dumb a** owners tried to put normal switches with the horses in the stable had to put the switches out side .
     
  11. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    and don't for get horse like bright light at night other wise they get spooked.
     
  12. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    is the SWA 16mm ?
     
  13. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    Would be yes
     
  14. buzzlightyear
    Online

    buzzlightyear Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    soul train, make plan out get it on the forum and we will give you advice. and take some pic before the job the starts.
     
  15. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    20171128_115105_003.jpg 20171128_115107.jpg 20171128_115109.jpg 20171128_115118.jpg 20171128_115120.jpg 20171128_115122.jpg 20171128_115147.jpg 20171128_115148.jpg 20171128_115158.jpg 20171128_115105_003.jpg 20171128_115107.jpg 20171128_115109.jpg 20171128_115118.jpg 20171128_115120.jpg 20171128_115122.jpg 20171128_115147.jpg 20171128_115148.jpg 20171128_115158.jpg 20171128_115105_003.jpg 20171128_115107.jpg 20171128_115109.jpg 20171128_115105_003.jpg 20171128_115107.jpg 20171128_115109.jpg 20171128_115118.jpg 20171128_115120.jpg 20171128_115122.jpg 20171128_115147.jpg 20171128_115148.jpg 20171128_115158.jpg
     
  16. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    Oh dear think the pics went a bit wrong !
     
  17. bigspark17
    Offline

    bigspark17 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    wales
    Dont like this set up. Id prefer switchfuse at DNO & isolate cpc @ stables db, youre importing an earth over 45M bound to cause some PD between true earth and imported earth.
    Earth rod at rear of stables with 30mA rcd main switch would be a better set up imo
     
  18. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    How far to put rod in away from stables though is my concern 3 mtrs plus and there are electric fenced areas, would they cause an issue as could probably run direct to rear of stables themselves and rod a good 10 mtrs plus away from any elec fence equipment too.
     
  19. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    30mA main switch or just pop separate rcbo's in board ?
     
  20. PEG
    Offline

    PEG Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Manchester
    Hi bud,there are 20 questions more really,but,i wouldn't think of going all protective on the size/type of your RCD,standard rules apply.

    I would put the effort on separation rather than ADS:)

    Place all cabling in steel conduit or similar,do not have accessories,such as switches,ANYWHERE horses can be/reach,whether metal or not. A decent 14HH can bite the front clean off a single metalclad...seen it.

    There are specs for animals,especially horses,regarding proximity to TT rod positions - just read up,and pick your spot.

    10mA for 5mS would not mean neddy would make the show.

    I feel your pain,as after dealing with the DNO,intractable as they can be,your customers will now want to spend any money they have left,on saddles,bits and hoof-oil ;)
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  21. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    The dno are charging a packet for a small run to be honest ! Seems a real wasps nest this livestock carry on :(
     
  22. Wilko
    Offline

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    Hi - with the exception you've deleted the upfront s RCD I've suggested, this is exactly what I had intended. Fully agree with you on earthing.
     
  23. Soulsurfer
    Offline

    Soulsurfer Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Channel Islands
    Business Name:
    M.B.S ELECTRICAL
    Bit like hot tub then divorce the earth at new board, possibly a compression gland to keep earth totally seperate from metal ?
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Stables horses supply Forum Date
Best type of lighting in stables Electrical Forum Sep 27, 2017

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job