Discuss Starting on my own & where to start? in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
hi

I’m after some advise... I’m a qualified electrician & have 15 years experience.
I’m currently employed & work nights as a sparks & would like to start my own thing during the day.
Is there anything I should & shouldn’t do?
I’m a bit confused on where to start & what to do.
I want to be able to sign my own work off so I know I need to join a competent persons scheme but which one is best.

Thanks

Hi Nick, this is a frequently asked question, and I suspect you'll get some fruitful replies. You could search in the business section, see if yo can locate previous threads on this very subject.

In the meantime, I'll kick it off by saying firstly, what is your present employer stance on you working for yourself or another employer?

My Tu'ppence worth.
Hi Nick,
Everybody's situation if different so feel free to use or ignore this suits you.
As Midwest said (above) what's your current employer situation? If you're permanent PAYE can I suggest an honest conversation with them. They may be able to sub work to you when you start. At-least you wont make an enemy on your doorstep if you give them time to adjust.
Also, write a basic business plan. Doesn't have to be reams of paper but plan how / where you get work and crucial assistance when you need it. What your costs are etc. A lovely new van is nice but my NV200 is six years old and paid in full second hand.
At fifteen years you have bags more experience than me so may quote accurately. Me? I still under quote too often.
What else? Don't under estimate how much time you'll spend doing admin :( I'm getting better and my background in computing helps but I still spend hours on quote, spreadsheets, chasing materials etc.

Where are you based in Essex?