Discuss Starting up to do weekend work in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

RickS

-
Reaction score
Good Morning All,

I'm after some guidance on what I need in order to start carrying out my own work on a weekend and evenings. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
I am an apprentice trained electrician (from an engineering background though, so machine wiring etc). Previous to that I applied to be an apprentice sparky doing house re-wires which I did for 3 months before moving into engineering. I'm now a project engineer so not really a relevant role.
My qualifications are 2330 lv3, 2382 17th edition, foundation degree in electrical and electronic engineering (probably not relevant). I'm waiting to do my inspection & test and 18th edition top up.
I've carried out a few house re-wires for mates which have all been passed off and numerous re-wires before moving into engineering.
Is there anything else I will need in order to carry out my own work such as AM2 etc?

Sorry for the waffling on a bit, thanks for any advice.

Rich

Also a good idea to sort a basic, simple to use book keeping solution - gets tricky to make time for the admin once you're rushing around doing the actual work!

Most basic packages have all you need to track business income/expenditure and print off/email quotes & invoices.

Also a good idea to build a relationship with a couple of other local trades plasterer, builder etc so you can attend quotes together for various jobs, always useful if you can offer the customer a full solution in one go.

Best of luck with it all.

I'm after some guidance on what I need in order to start carrying out my own work on a weekend and evenings.
One of these may come in handy for the evening work...:)