Discuss Supply pillars on beaches in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I am a facilities manager and have been investigating some feeder pillars set up a beach.

We recently found a few pillars taken off a PME supple. They just had some 10mm swa going over to a non ip rates dist board in a wooden!!?! box that’s sits maybe 200mm above highest tide point.

I know there are plenty of issues with this, I.e. earthing arrangements, IP ratings, location etc. But we would like to replace them with a more acceptable solution

Does anyone know if there are certain regulations in writing on this and if so where are they. No special locations in the regs books relate to beaches.

Thanks

I am a facilities manager and have been investigating some feeder pillars set up a beach.

We recently found a few pillars taken off a PME supple. They just had some 10mm swa going over to a non ip rates dist board in a wooden!!?! box that’s sits maybe 200mm above highest tide point.

I know there are plenty of issues with this, I.e. earthing arrangements, IP ratings, location etc. But we would like to replace them with a more acceptable solution

Does anyone know if there are certain regulations in writing on this and if so where are they. No special locations in the regs books relate to beaches.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum mate.
Are you intending to do this work yourself or to get an electrician in to do it?

Section 709, although for marinas and similar locations, would be a good place to start.

Hi. Thanks for the welcome.

I am not an electrician and won’t be doing anything myself.

I am just after any rules and regulations that govern these kind of installations. After speaking with electricians it appears to be a bit of a grey area with differing opinions.

Thanks