Discuss Supply to outbuilding (Shed) in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

manos

-
Reaction score
Good evening

I am an electrician from abroad, I have my 17th edition pased in UK and I am working as an electrician in industry since 2012.
I would like to power my shed with a 2.5mm Armoured cable. Can enyone tell me if I can do it as described in digram below.
Do I need the socket outlet after the Switched Fused Spur.
If not any sugestions ?

Attachments

• Shed.pdf
    45.1 KB · Views: 74
Hello Manos and Welcome to the Forum !
Well it is the weekend - time for some work on the shed. Not meaning to sound funny, but how about consulting your BYB and OSG ?

looks good from this seat. is the SWA going to be buried? i'd suggest using T/E in the house, through wall into adaptable box, then gland SWA from there.similar arrangement at shed.

Where to start...
What earthing arrangement do you have? What are you intending to power...
But having just read your post again. I find it alarming that with 5 years uk electrical experience and possible scheme member? you can not wire a shed!!! The fact you are asking the question tells me you are out of. Your depth and suggest you get another local electrician in to do the job. If you mess ot up you will have to get one round anyway. This may sound really harsh and abrupt but i figured its best to speak my mind. I appreciate you may be working in the industry but likewise i wouldnt go working in a power station i am more commercial and domestic focused i would be out of my depth.

but from your diagram there is a lot of info missing such as distance. Cable routes etc.... If the shed is right by the house its not such an issue but if it's end of a long garden a different endeavour altogether.

Last edited:
Where to start...
What earthing arrangement do you have? What are you intending to power...