Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. angel While you're here, would you mind checking out our Electrician's Insurance section to see if we could save you a few quid? - Specifically our Van Insurance Deals and Public Liability Insurance Deals. Thanks for supporting the forum! angel

    5% Discount from Electrical2Go.co.uk for ALL members! - Click Here

Discuss Swapping thermostats in the Central Heating Systems area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Tags:
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi there!
    I’m trying to swap a wired Lifestyle P111 heating programmer with a Netatmo thermostat.
    The Lifestyle has a blue, red and yellow wire and the Netatmo requires only two wires.
    I think I need to isolate the blue and connect the red and yellow to the Netatmo, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Photos attached.
    Thank you.

    8C173A64-3AA2-4DA9-AC29-6C85874E1AB4.jpeg

    9BA94153-4D24-4C74-9DA3-CCF74C354EBB.jpeg
     
  2. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    Doesn't the boiler relay have brown, blue, black and grey?
     
  3. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Lee, thanks for your reply.
    I did not intend to connect the boiler relay to the boiler - I’d intended to use the plug in relay and switch out the heating controller for the Netatmo Thermostat. Main reason being I didn’t want to be left with a hole in the kitchen tiles.
     
  4. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    the lifestyle is for system boilers and open vented only. what type of boiler have you got.
     
  5. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    Hi Buzz.
    We have a Worcester Combi boiler. There’s no hot water tank.
     
  6. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    You want to install the thermostat in the kitchen where it will get hot from cooking etc? This will not give you a true reflection of the houses temperature.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    Do you have an existing thermostat as well as the single channel programmer?
     
  8. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    Good point Lee. So I’d be better attaching the relay directly to the boiler and using the Netatmo in wireless mode.
    Would I be right in thinking that by doing this I’d also be disconnecting the old Lifestyle programmer and so would not need to insulate the wires in the kitchen?
     
  9. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    No Lee -at the moment there is no thermostat in the house, just the programmer In the kitchen.
     
  10. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    Yeah it would be better to use the relay so you can position the thermostat in an appropriate position. You could put a blank plate on to cover the hole in the tiles. The cable that goes to the programmer is probably connected to the boiler and could be disconnected.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    the thermostat needs to be in the coldest part of the building possible hallway
    and not near a radiator .
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. Leesparkykent
    Offline

    Leesparkykent You Rock Gmes Staff Member Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Kent
    I would position the thermostat in the most commonly used room, out of direct sunlight and out of direct drafts from doors opening etc. Make sure the room you install the thermostat in doesn't have a thermostatic rad valve. If it does you could change the TRV for a lock shield valve or simply turn it right up and remove the head or if it won't be fiddled with then just turn it right up. This way the thermostat and the thermostatic rad valve will not conflict with each other.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    You’ve been incredibly helpful Lee, much appreciated. Now I just need to identify the thermostat terminals in the Worcester 28cdi and I’m good to go!
     
  14. buzzlightyear
    Offline

    buzzlightyear still kicking sand, before pushing up daisies . Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    star command
    • Like Like x 1
  15. SimonB2008
    Offline

    SimonB2008 EF Member

    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks Buzz, I’d just found this and was having a look. The diagram shows clearly where the LS / LR terminals are - I attached the black and grey relay wires to that, and then blue and brown wires to the power supply terminals. I’m guessing the wires for the prgorammer will be in the power supply terminals at the moment so i’ll take those out.
     

Share This Page

Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job