Discuss Swimming pool help please in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, I’m not an electrician- just looking for some advice please - thanks. I’m looking at putting a small swimming pool in an industrial unit to open a swim school. The existing RCD board is currently in zone 1 and has lots of surface mounted cabling serving the existing lights etc, some also in zone 1. The landlord doesn’t want the RCD to be moved. Is it possible to create an enclosure which would put the RCD and associated cabling into a safe zone or even out of the pool room altogether? Thanks for your help.

Thanks, I don’t have plans yet but here’s a photo. The pool would end halfway between the yellow lines and stand 1m high. I’m also concerned about the cabling that you can see going over the ceiling as it would cross the end of the pool, would a suspended ceiling put this in a safe zone? How difficult would it be to move the RCD if it’s not feasible to cover it safely? Very grateful for your help Swimming pool help please 499648D1-3E58-419D-B07E-DEAD53075644 - EletriciansForums.net

I've seen some requests for advice but this one takes the biscuit. OP your only possible way of seeing if your swimming pool is viable, is to get in a contractor who has a good working knowledge of the regulations regarding swimming pools, it also seems you'll need to make some structural changes, and probably need planning consent or guidance. I've witnessed a local person running a swim school for young kids on the cheap (not suggesting you are) and it was quite frightening the short cuts taken.