Discuss Switch plate earthing advice in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I had reason to unscrew a metal 4-gang switch-plate to investigate a noise. I discovered that the earth terminal on the switch does not have a wire to the metal back box, or anywhere else. The lighting cable earths are terminated in the earthing point in the back box.

The wiring to this switch has recently been modified (March 2017) by a qualified electrician in order to change three of the four gangs to two-way switching. He has issued a certificate covering this work.

Should I make a complaint to him or just fix it myself (it took over 6 months to get the certificate so I would rather not have him back!). I have a degree in Electrical Engineering so have a good understanding of electrical wiring and safety, but not the current wiring regulations.

The whole switch actually needs replacing as the noise is caused by arcing on the one circuit that was not converted to two-way. As a temporary expedient I have just used the other pole on this switch.

I have looked at two the other metal switches that were installed in 2011 before I bought the property (and I have the certificates for that work as well). None of the other metal switches have earths either.

IMG_20171007_113959.jpg IMG_20171007_113959.jpg

Can I suggest you get a competent Electrician into your property to carry out an EICR which is an Electrical Installation Condition Report, as you do seem to be concerned over the state of your properties Electrical installation, it does look from the pictures you have provided, that workmanship may be of some concern here, but of course without first hand knowledge it's difficult to form a comprehensive appreciation, an EICR from a decent contractor will confirm any doubts you may have, there will be of course doubters, but that's my advice, take it or leave it it's yours and your family's safety at stake, good luck anyway.