Discuss Terminate live feed from tiled floor? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Vigman

-
Reaction score
Hi newbie here. Actually I'm a chartered electronics engineer but am often mystified by the dark magic of domestic wiring!

I have a kitchen counter fed by a live feed which comes up through a quarry tiled floor. I want to move the counter and disconnect that feed. I obviously don't want some form of termination on the floor so not sure what professionals would do here?

I can only think that the tile the cable comes through will have to be chipped out and a cavity made in the concrete screed below before fitting some sort of termination that can be covered by a new tile?

Any help or advice welcomed

TIA

Vigman

You need to find the source, normally fed from a nearby socket so isolate your socket supply for the kitchen and start looking for feeds from sockets normally exiting the bottom of the backbox.

At a push you might be able to remove the kick boards and see if a cable drops down the wall and disappears into the floor.

Thanks for the quick reply. I remember the cables for the counter sockets were run in trenches in the concrete screed before coming up inside the counters. There are a lot of sockets in the kitchen where the feed for the counter sockets could be from.

Would it be ever be possible to safely terminate the live feed below floor level and then tile over?

TIA

Vigman

Thanks for the quick reply. I remember the cables for the counter sockets were run in trenches in the concrete screed before coming up inside the counters. There are a lot of sockets in the kitchen where the feed for the counter sockets could be from.

Would it be ever be possible to safely terminate the live feed below floor level and then tile over?

TIA

Vigman
Joints in circuit cables nee to be accessible joining the cables and tiling over the joint is a far cry from being accessible.

Chop up the floor where the cable comes out. Carefully.