Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss Terminating SWA Cable in the New Member Introductions area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Tags:
Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    A Builder is extending a house and expects to unearth a SWA cable running from the house to a detached garage. I can see the SWA terminates at a garage consumer unit but can't see it starting at the CU in the house. I plan to fit a new CU and new SWA to the garage (with a new Garage CU) as part of the project. Just for now I need to know how to terminate the SWA (probably into an waterproof box) when its unearthed. The circuit it's on is a 32A ring which supplies sockets in the house as well as the garage CU . I have isolated the supply so that the SWA cable won't be live when its located.
     
  2. Zdb
    Offline

    Zdb Regular EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    You can't supply a garage CU from a ring main. You will need to run a new cable back to the CU in the house and put it on it's own circuit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Why not gland the swa straight into the metal consumer unit?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Murdoch
    Online

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Not sure I understand the question.....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    think he's saying there's an existing swa feeding a garage and that when the extension is getting built they may unearth it when doing the foundations , so he's going to install a new swa to the garage .
    Think that's correct anyway .
     
  6. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    What's a ring main doing in a house?
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Like Like x 2
    • Old Old x 1
  7. Wilko
    Offline

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    Hi Simon - perhaps find where the SWA has been connected to house wiring and remove it there. As garage is getting a new supply then SWA best be removed, imho :)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  8. Zdb
    Offline

    Zdb Regular EF Member

    Location:
    UK
    • Useful Useful x 1
  9. Murdoch
    Online

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Hum... he says he's isolated the supply, so presumably he hasn't isolated the socket circuit..... so the cable will be dead!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    • Like Like x 2
  12. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    Yes. I plan to do this but need to solve this immediate problem.
     
  13. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    I agree this would be a good solution. Unfortunately I don't know where the connection was made. I do plan to install a new SWA with the new Consumer unit.
     
  14. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    You're quite right Pete999. It's a Ring Final Circuit not a ring main. Thanks for pointing this out. Have you a solution to my question?
     
  15. Murdoch
    Online

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Best you try and find it as leaving a "terminated" live cable under ground isn't ideal - especially as its part of the RFC ...
     
  16. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    I know that what exists is wrong and I do plan to correct them when I have finished my work on this project.
     
  17. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    That's correct. And I will take the new SWA back to the Consumer Unit, which should have need done in the first place.
     
  18. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    I have isolated the supply, which includes the socket circuit.
     
  19. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Is the SWA terminated in an adaptable box somewhere on the exterior of you house, this is usually the method when taking a supply from a Ring FC, as you say there is no evidence of any SWA at the CU.
     
    • Dumb Dumb x 1
  20. Richard Burns
    Offline

    Richard Burns Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Business Name:
    Richard Burns
    If the SWA is connected to the ring final circuit it would be best to disconnect it there rather than have a live cable running through a working area of underground works.
    However if this is not possible then when you find the loose end of the SWA cable this end can be glanded with a CW gland into a weatherproof junction box and the cores terminated in connectors to prevent inadvertent contact. Because of the nature of the location you should be looking to find a strong junction box as well as waterproof.
    Ensuring that the cable is secured out of the way of any proposed works would also be good.
     
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  21. telectrix
    Offline

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    no, it's correct. pete. a distribution circuit as a ring.

    electrical supply serving a series of consumers
     
  22. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Yes I agree Tel but the OP was saying the OD was describing the RFC as a Ring Main, perhaps I should have read the ODs description first, RFC is a circuit supplying sockets a Ring Main is a distribution circuit, I knew that but was getting so peed off with folk calling the RFC ring main, perhaps I should stop being such a pedant.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  23. davesparks
    Offline

    davesparks Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    guildford
    • Like Like x 2
  24. Midwest
    Offline

    Midwest Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Oxfordshire
    I have to say, when I was a young thruster, we called RFC's - Ring Mains. We also called lamps - light bulbs, dinner - tea and side cutters - snips. We also called socket outlets - plugs, with plugs called plug tops.

    Thing was, no one got confused or the slightest bit annoyed. Well the elephant is in the room now, I've run the flag up the pole, lets see if anyone salutes it, perhaps its just my helicopter view of things :p
     
    • Like Like x 3
  25. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    If you say ring main, everyone knows what you mean , like when people say bulb instead of lamp. People say Ze for tt when it should be Ra
    Tamato tomato
     
  26. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    Thanks Richard for your advice. I'll terminate in an IP65 Junction Box ( IP65 Adaptable Box 80 x 80 x 52mm - http://www.screwfix.com/p/ip65-adaptable-box-80-x-80-x-52mm/14556) and secure this in a safe location until I can fit a new Consumer Unit and replace the cable to the garage CU with a new SWA cable between them.
     
  27. anthonybragg
    Offline

    anthonybragg Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    NORTHAMPTON
    Business Name:
    CHARLTEC ELECTRICAL LTD
    I assume that you know which circuit in your consumer unit.Safely isolate this circuit and look behind the socket outlets if it has been spurred off one of these. You may find this as one of the sockets has three cables rather than two.
     
  28. Murdoch
    Online

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ still think this is a poor solution. NOTHING stays water proof for ever.

    Can't you locate the cable, then bring it "out" of the ground and terminate it in an ip rated socket that could then be used?

    Edit: I was fault finding a socket circuit today, which included the shed .... The swa was connected to a socket on a wall backing onto the garden. Neither end of the swa was terminated properly, and despite a dual RCD board being in place, all the sockets were on the same RCD.......so when it trips, all but the lights go out.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  29. anthonybragg
    Offline

    anthonybragg Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    NORTHAMPTON
    Business Name:
    CHARLTEC ELECTRICAL LTD
    Good solution to the problem as long as RCD protected.
     
  30. Murdoch
    Online

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    If not, fit an ip rated RCD socket.....
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  31. Simon Linton
    Offline

    Simon Linton EF Member

    Location:
    Altrincham, Cheshire
    Business Name:
    Simon Linton - Domestic Electrician
    Yes. There the CU Has two RCD's
     
  32. Pete999
    Offline

    Pete999 Trusted Advisor

    Top Poster Of Month

    Location:
    Northampton
    Blimey I got a dumb post as well, not sure what for though, perhaps the dumb poster could explain, got no problem with being called dumb if I have said or done something dumb, but can't in all honesty see what's so dumb about my post, so come on Mr dumb poster tell me why, you rated my post as dumb.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
Loading...
Similar Threads - Terminating Cable Forum Date
Cable storage/racking for vans Electrical Forum Tuesday at 11:13 PM
Cable storage/racking for vans New Member Introductions Tuesday at 11:11 PM

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job