Discuss Thinking of ditching niceic in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

Jaxo

I've been thinking of ditching NICEIC but I'm just not 100% sure if its the right thing to to ..

I've been an approved contractor for around 8 years and when I joined I was doing a lot of work for builders who required a scheme registered contractor to do their electrical work..

Nowadays my work is mainly maintenance & call outs for domestic and commercial customers, none of whom even know who NICEIC are let alone ask me if I'm registered.. I do some installation work also, but very little (if any) for the past 2-3 years for anyone who actually requires a NICEIC or scheme member certificate.. I could use my own certs if I wanted but use NICEIC online certification software as I'm registered with them and its free,.. not because customers specifically ask for it.

Living in N. Ireland there is no part P either so I really am failing to see what benefits being a NICEIC approved contractor is bringing to the table.. I'm just seeing it as a pointless £500 bill every year...

So the BIG question, should I stay or should I leave.. ? Has anyone here left previously and went it alone (without a scheme).. and if so how did you find it ??

Jack

I'm with stroma and id rather have that extra money in my pocket. After reading your thread about not having to register jobs under part p where you are then I'd go it alone. I have however voted to go with someone else as I voted before I read the thread. After 8 years in business I'd have thought your existing customers would use you again regardless of whether or not you pay a scam.

Had my initial Stroma assessment today after considering which scheme to go for, seemed a no-brainer to go with them for £288 all in compared to others which were substantially higher!

Have you gained any work through being a member via their website...? If not I'd lean towards going it alone as it seems an unjustified expense in Northern Ireland.