Discuss To Crimp or not to Crimp??? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

shinypen

Hi.

I'm just starting out on my own and really appreciate the advice given here.

I'm installing my C/U (eventually to be used for my NICEIC assessment) and I need to extend all cables 30cms max. I've done lots or research and decided to crimp them and locate within an adaptable box.

I don't want to get the wrong type of ratchet tool and butt crimps. Are the following acceptable for 1.5mm2 upto 6mm2 (different coloured sleeves aside)?

http://www.NoLinkingToThis/p/ratchet-crimping-tool-1-0-10mm/96561
http://www.NoLinkingToThis/p/insulated-crimp-ebb-blue-butt-pack-of-100/47402

Also, is this the best approach? Reluctant to use din rails because of cost but will if it's the best way.

Many thanks, Rob.

Thanks both. Did think of wago connectors and suppose is really my preferred option, but for some reason was worried it'd look a bodge for a future inspection?

You could always get the DIN rail carriers and mount them on a DIN rail in your adaptable box and snap the Wagos on to them, or as Lee has just pointed out proper DIN rail terminals would be even better.

I wouldn't use standard off the shelf butt crimps for single core. Some people will disagree, but the advice I've been given and found when I went reading was don't do it, they aren't designed for single core.

Of course you could always use Wago din rail connectors, get the best of both worlds. I wonder how you view whether the box you connect in should be fireproof??? same as CU?

Excepting those for use with solid conductors.

I've never seen an insulated crimp suitable for solid core. Normally crimps for solid core cable need an indent or hex type crimp tool. I'd have thought this would damage the insulation.

You haven't by chance got a link to some have you? I've only ever used the uninsulated type and then applied my own insulation after.

Thanks everyone.