Discuss Totally confused in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

Nolnoc

-
Reaction score
I am a qualified electrician from Ireland.Due to the work situation over here(there is none) I am thinking of moving to the U.K for a bit. Whats confusing me from reading this forum is all the codes etc (part p).Could someone explain this to me please.I am almost 20 years in the business and have an Irish qualification(will it be acceptable).Are there different levels of qualification in the U.K.
Also is there any work over there.I am thinking of trying the Olympics surely ther is work there
Thanks in advance

part p only applies to domestics. ignore it if you are wanting to do commercial and industrial. as for quals, i thought irish were same as here.

There is hardly any work to be honest. Alot of the larger M + E firms i know of, are struggling. I work in commerical/industrial. For a large-ish firm. And were just ticking over.
Most sites will require you to have a JIB card to work as an electrician.

Part P is the building regulation which covers electrical work in dwellings, it is not applicable to commercial or industrial work. That is covered by the Electricity at work regs. There will no doubt be similar rules and regs in Ireland as there are over here.

I would contact the Electrical Contractors Association (ECA) in the UK and ask them the same questions.

Your Irish quals may or may not be comparable (but i dont see why they shouldnt be).

Cheers..Howard