Discuss Tough Choice [ Engineering] in the Electrical Engineering Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

bTom

Hi,

What should you know:
- I'm studying HND electrical engineering at college (2nd year)
- I'm 19.

I've really hard times to choose between work or uni so I would like to ask older than me what should I do, here is a few choices:

1) Go to uni starting from year 1. I already get conditional for second year but it will be really hard for me to get them so I would have to start from year 1.
If I would go to uni I would have to take an extra student loan because SAAS won't pay for first 2 years which will add £14k to my student loan account and then another £6k for 3 more years.

After uni I will end up with £27k student loan but with really high chances of getting a good job as an Energy System Engineer.

2) Go to work with my HND degree and work as an technician with fine wages and quite enjoyable work in electrical fields.

I didn't really think of something different but If you have any ideas you could share then I will really appreciate.

Thank for answers.

if you get HND , it's only just below a degree. if you can find enjoyable work with HND, then that's the way to go.

work work work i got onc then did most of hnc without experience not much use if you ask me
when i went for jib grading they didnt seem to want to know about them

agree with tele, finish it and work, if you dont like it a good HND (distinction/merit pattern) should gain you access to year 2 on a degree programme. on the flip side Vince, a jib grading would be of little relevance to your suitability for an HNC/D