Discuss Tradeskills4u in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

oh ye and whether any of the qualifications that you get from these courses will count towards the c&g 2330 certificates(since that's my real target, but college courses don't start till september) or is it totally different stuff ?

hello everyone,
I'm thinking of doing a course with tradeskills4u, haven't got enough for C&G 2330 atm, so i'm wondering whether either

Domestic Electrical Installer TS4U-17: Bronze

or

Domestic Electrical Installer TS4U-25: Silver

will enable me to apply for electricians mates jobs or would it be a waste of time ?

I have no previous experience in electrical work, but have been working in construction for just over 4 years.
thank you

They *may*. Thing is, most times someone is looking for a mate, its the practical experience they have rather than the quals people are after.

These courses will basically provide you with certificates of competence - for 17th, Part P, and basic test and inspection (required for Part P anyway). In short, they will certify you as competent to work on domestic electrical installations.

My advice to you, to be honest, right now, is if you're definitely getting into the industry, is that the bits of paper won't make any difference to you getting in the door if you have the commitment to do the quals once in, and demonstrate that. Your best bet is to get on the phone, knock on doors, and find someone willing to give you practical experience, and then consider the courses.

oh ye and whether any of the qualifications that you get from these courses will count towards the c&g 2330 certificates(since that's my real target, but college courses don't start till september) or is it totally different stuff ?

None of those certs will add towards the 2330. Shop around there is a company in London (they have a few centres) offering the level 2 for £2.7k