Discuss Transformer or Central Heating buzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

T

Transformer

Hi All,

I would really appreciate if someone could help me ascertain what the continuous electrical buzz/hum noise is under my floorboards?

I stay in a flat directly above a shop. They had been leaving their Emergency Light on through the night and I thought this may have been contributing to this noise. Or perhaps a transformer on charge? But even after switching this light off the noise is still present 24hrs a day. I must stress I have no electrical knowledge whatsoever and this is where you guys come in..

I phoned shop again today and spoke to one of the staff who let slip that a new central heating system had been installed recently and that panels had been taken down from their ceiling. My questions are twofold.

What would they putting in the cavity between their ceiling and my floor that pertains to central heating and thus noise?
Are they not supposed to inform residents that they are installing a new heating system?

I would be so grateful for any advice. I am going out of my mind with this constant buzz that travels to other rooms in my flat but is most prevalent in my livingroom:sad3: Thank you.

i don,t think c/h would cause any buzzing
it could be a noisy fluo light in the shop (the transformer inside)
there should be a fire barrier to stop a fire/ noise from reaching your flat sounds like its been interfered with

And can anything be done other than moving home?
No, nothing at all. Consider a cardboard box under a bridge since the weather is quite mild.
Seriously though, in your position I'd go to the shop when the noise is at it's worst and invite them up to hear it for themselves then ask them what they did and what they are going to do to ease your discomfort. Most people will try to help if they know the size of the problem