Discuss Trying to setup 21 Computer Fans each rated 12 Volts, is this correct setup? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

E

Electronic

Hi all,

I’m completely new to any kind of electrical work and would be grateful if you guys could confirm my setup to be correct.

I’ll try to be as clear as I can:

I have 220V coming from my Wall Socket, so I assume I have 220V to use.

What I’d like to do is, use the power coming from the wall socket to power 21 Computer fans that are all rated at 12 Volts each (total 252 Volts).

But I want to under power them so they run slower, therefore 220 Volts would be enough since all the fans in total can take up to 252 Volts (it leaves me with 32 Volts of head room)

I’ll be soldering everything in a Parallel Circuit and will add a 12 Volt Current Limiting Resistor in Series before each fan, onto each Parallel Line (so in total I’ll also have 21 resistors in the circuit). I have 12 Volt Fans, so I assumed a 12 Volt Resistor is the correct resistor for each parallel line.

Finally, between the Wall Socket and the 21 Resistors & 21 Fans, I’m going to add a Light Dimmer Switch so that I can manually control how fast & slow the fans will be running on the fly.

For Setup, I plan to attach a Plug onto one end of a 2.5mm Twin Earth Cable and then strip the other end of the cable all the way so that the wires are fully exposed into Positive & Negative, then proceed to make all the soldering connections in Parallel with the Resistors in series, followed by covering up the exposed wires with Electrical Tape when I’m finished.

Do I need to buy a specific Light Dimming Switch?
Is this setup correct?

I've drawn a diagram, but the forum won't let me upload it because the file size is too big. (1.65mb)

Thanks all!