Discuss Trying to understand 3-way switch and smart lighting in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

NotALeccy

-
DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

Total newbie here and as you can tell from my name..... I'm definitely not an electrician. I've done a bit of electrical hackery in the past, mostly in cars and a bit of soldering, but this all feels a bit beyond my ability and I'd rather not be electrocuted and die before my 30th birthday. Afterwards..... we can reassess ;)

Last week, I replaced my bedroom light switch, essentially a standard SPDT light switch with Common Live, Neutral, and Two Switched Live Outputs (L1 and L2), albeit only one was wired up.... with a 21st century equivalent, a 'Smart Wi-Fi switch'. Indeed, I can now turn my lights on from work...... why you'd do that, I'm not sure?

Anyway, having seen what a trivial task that was, the boss has now decided that we should do the bottom of the stairs too, but that's a whole different gravy train..... for a number of reasons:

The bottom of the stairs has a faceplate with 3 separate switches.... Switch 1, controls the outside lights. Switch 2, controls the hallway light. Those two are easy, as I'm guessing from a purely electrical basis, the wiring is the same as the bedroom.

Switch 3....... from what the Internet is telling me, is referred to as a '3-way switch combination' ? So it can be 'live' in either position.

I vaguely understand the electronics behind this, to a certain degree..... I've not removed the faceplate, but I'm guessing this single SPDT switch will have two wires for the switched lives, one in L1, one in L2.