Discuss Understanding breakers and RCD, un-vented cylinders in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a Plumber and heating engineer and a new member to your forum.

I have a basic knowledge of electrics but I'm curious about how breakers and Rcd's work and whether they prevent fires.

My basic understanding is the breaker trips if more power is been drawn than is safe and an RCD senses an earth fault and trips almost instantly.

So on a modern installation, with breakers and RCD would an electrical fault which could have led to a fire on an old installation be prevented?

Recently I attended a faulty economy 7 immersion on an unvented cylinder. The live had completely come away from the element, either by burning out or someone interfering with it, surprisingly the electrics hadn't tripped and there was signs of scorching inside the immersion cover.

This also leads onto another question. I'm G3 qualified and regularly work on and install un-vented cylinders but I've had very little experience with direct economy 7 models. I usually install and repair in-direct units.

It is my understanding that an un-vented immersion is different from a standard one and I always contact the manufacturer to get parts specific to the model I am working on. However if someone replaced an un vented immersion stat with a conventional one, what problems could this cause?

Thanks for your time

As far as I know there is no difference between an unvented immersion/stat and a conventional one.

An MCB or RCD normally won't trip if theres a loose connection. The connection will heat up and eventually burn out.

Hi Jones and Welcome to the Forum!
I'm sure you'll get plenty of help here, and there's several interesting questions you've raised. Re the L disconnected from the element - if it had touched E or N then one or both of the protective devices should've tripped. Any signs of overheating?

Thanks