Discuss Unknown box above external fire exit in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
This is actually about a commercial property, but I put it in DIY because it's probably a total noob question and doesn't belong in the professional forums. Simple really - what is this? The box above the fire escape.

Is it a power supply or something for the fire exit sign on the inside, also pictured? I'm guessing so, but then why the lights?

Sorry for the idiot question. Thanks a bunch :)

inside-door.png outside-door.png

I agree it looks like an emergency light, does it have a small green or red LED illuminated somewhere on it?

don't take the money, open the box.

Once worked in a large house which had a green domed light in the hallway. I asked my mate what it was. He said the person living there was deaf, do if the phone rang he wouldn't hear it, so the light flashed instead. Took a week for me to twig he was extracting the you know what!

Once worked in a large house which had a green domed light in the hallway. I asked my mate what it was. He said the person living there was deaf, do if the phone rang he wouldn't hear it, so the light flashed instead. Took a week for me to twig he was extracting the you know what!
You got the last laugh though when you electrocuted him in the shed.

Nah, different mate!

Does not like it is to do with emergency lights as there trunkingvand conduit supplying the light on the inside and a seperate cable on the outside , if was an emergency light you would just wire it back entry from the inside light, and it does not look like any emergency light i have seen

How old is the installation? the only reason that I ask is that we jump through hoops to do an O&M manual and when you turn up to these places its nowhere to be seen. Looks to me like an outside light probably with an emergency element.