Discuss Upgrade to three phase supply in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

MichaelS

Hi all,

Newbie here with no electrical experience so please be gentle! :blush:

I am currently refurbishing my basement flat and during this we have discovered that the supply to the four flats is single phase. I have been told this is unsafe and insufficient for the four flats. U.K. Power networks initially came over and the engineer couldn't believe how it was setup, four separate metres on a single phase and was amazed that there had been no burnouts.

My questions:
Is this unsafe and does it need to be changed?
Who is responsible for upgrading and paying for the upgrade?
If it is the freeholders, is there a way to make this a legal requirement?
Is there a way to make either Uk Power or the electricity companies to do it?

Many thanks

Michael

View attachment 35207

Is that not a 3 phase feed that is split per flat then?

Two days running and a head with four fuses. Must admit looks a bit Heath Robinson with the three left fuses connected from the original one but they could be soundly connected. Whether it is dangerous or not cannot be judged by looking at a picture. Who has told you it is unsafe.

You need to swap places with the people who have this already installed: Domestic Supply ? - http://www.electriciansforums.co.uk/threads/domestic-supply.118210/ :)

It's up to the DNO whether it's considered safe, the applicable regs are different to those for the electrical installation itself. Based on what I wrote in that thread, it's probably not recommended practice, depending on how the fuses are physically fitted and the size of the service cable. The specific fact of being single-phase is not in itself dangerous.