Discuss Using Type C MCB in domestic propertys in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

Brendan.Ashford

Hi guys and girls.

I am an assistant Electrical Design Consultant and wanted to ask your opinions on a job i have been asked to look at!

We have been asked to look into a latent defect, were a Electrical contractor has installed Type C MCB on the lighting circuit in a number of domestic houses. This has be brought to light from an inspecting electrician, the work is over 3 years old. So this being under the 16th Edition Wiring regulations.

My personnel opinion is that it is good practice to put Type B MCB in on all domestic circuits, but type C MCB's are commonly used for fluorescent lighting in commercial premises and may not trip if a filament (incandescent) lamp ruptures, so this may be why the electrical contractor has done this. i.e health and safety reasons :confused:

I say this because:-

Type B MCB trip between 3 and 5 times full load current
Type C MCB trip between 5 and 10 times full load current
Type D MCB trip between 10 and 20 times full load current

I don’t know what the short circuit rating is of the Type C MCB's installed but for this discussion let’s use 6KA.

What are your feelings about it? and can you point me in the right direction with in the 16th Edition Regs book? So i can reference it with in my report!!! Also if an NICEIC inspector is able to give me their opinion I would appreciate it!

Truth Fully speaking nothing wrong with it!!

i brought this up with my Assessment Officer with ELECSA in January and he said Type C are perfectly fine in domestic property's,