Discuss What a load of rubbish in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

ackbarthestar

-
Mentor
Arms
Reaction score
I installed some Robus fire rated downlights in a customers bathroom about 5 years ago. I get a call from her to say one of the fittings exploded.

I thought at this point I'd better go round and have a look and sure enough the metal surround had fallen out and smashed on the floor after the lamp had exploded.
What shocked me that the heat generated from these GU10 halogens was sufficient to cause the Chrome plating to bubble away from the surrounding dural aluminum surround plate...

It maybe that the wrong lamps were fitted or that the fire rated fittings were from a dodgy batch.

I wonder if anybody else has had this type of problem - its a first for me and I've been sniffing around for nearly 30 years....

Chrome plating bubbling, you mean the chrome self adhesive sticky back plastic!

Don't like Robus myself either, have used them in the past but not for a while now. Alway thought they were a quality brand but always seemed cheap to me

What was above the lights that needed protection from fire ingress..?
Or was it a flat with a flat above.?

All I'm saying is where was the heat going from the lamps?
Fire rated lamps are ok, but a waste of time in a bathroom if none of the other fittings in the other rooms aren't fire rated too.
Not so many fires start in a bathroom..!
Could be a dodgy bulb. I've had a few jobs where downlight bulbs gone in spectacular fashion...

It was a straight forward bathroom install with a bedroom above. I took the complete fitting out and the wiring was in good condition with no signs of heat damage. The heat appears to have been expelled from the bottom. All the fittings have some form of damage to their facing rings.

I will be taking some photos this afternoon to show the wholesalers.