Discuss What are these mystery sockets?! in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

Natalie

Hello!

I am a non electrician lady in need of your expert help, pretty please! :confused:

I've bought a flat recently - its about 5 years old - and in the living room and bedroom there's these weird sockets.

They're the same size as normal electrical sockets, but they have no on/off switch and the holes are round. They look like european sockets in that they have round holes, except theres 3 holes instead of 2. So no normal british plug will go in there, nor will a european adaptor.

They look like this pin wise:

What are these mystery sockets?! {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

Link - File:M plug.jpg - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

They also seem to have a seperate switch on the wall next to the normal light switch (although all the 'normal' lights are dimmer switches..)

I'm wondering if they're part of some snazzy lighting system, but i've no clue really!

Any ideas people?

If they are lighting sockets, then where am i meant to buy the lights that go with them? Can't find any with this weird plug on.

Thanking you kindly for reading.

Natalie

Last edited by a moderator:
cant see the pic, but sounds like 2amp lighting sockets, should be able to pick up plugs for them from diy stores.
hope this helps!

cant see the pic, but sounds like 2amp lighting sockets, should be able to pick up plugs for them from diy stores.
hope this helps!

oooo - sounds interesting.

Isn't 2 amps a lot less than a normal socket? I wonder what the point in that is.....is it meant to be for cheap lighting or something?

oooo - sounds interesting.

Isn't 2 amps a lot less than a normal socket? I wonder what the point in that is.....is it meant to be for cheap lighting or something?