Discuss What work can i do?? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

J

jakesm20

hi, im an electrician and i finished my 2330 just before the course changed. I am now unsure to what im physically allowed to do on my own.
I don't have my NVQ yet due to constant dodgy jobs such as un-qualified employers, being horribly under paid and just generally being mistreated. ive been through 4 employers in 3 and a half years and am now felling like i will never find employment with a bit of security and where the employer is at least a bit respectful to how hard i work.

The good thing about working with so many people is Ive worked in many different environments so have learnt a lot. i feel confident to do basic full house re-wires alone and have done ( For £20 a DAY! ) including test and inspection. iv'e also gained other bits of knowledge in more specialized areas

I'm now thinking why not do small works on my own through small advertisements? the problem is, am i allowed? i don't want to be a another cowboy. iv'e worked with far to many as it is ; )

Many thanks

no problem with going on your own. to be totally above board as regards part p, get 2382, then join a scam.

thanks for the incredibly fast reply. first what do i need to do to get the 2382? also what do you mean by scam?

dont need to do anything before the 2382 apart from read up on your regs. scam=scheme membership lol
as for work it`s whatever you are "Competent" to do that your allowed to do

to get the 2382 you need to be able to read .................the regs book

Scam is our polite way of describing a Part P self certification scheme....................superimposed scheme for scam

so let me just go through this;

the level im at now is iv'e completed my 2330 and have no NVQ or AM2.