Discuss What would you charge? in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

gavin.sibley

Hello all,

Have been on here for a while so be easy on me! I'm an electrician by trade and started out doing domestics and working my way up. This last year or so I've found my biggest contract (practically full time). Is on tanker ships carrying oil, I went on as an electrician but now do all the maintenance and installation work on electrics, panels, motors, pumps, boilers, neumatics and pretty much everything else you would find on board.

What hourly rate would you be charging for this?

With no experience in this field I went in low to try and build experience but now feel I might be too cheap!

I should probably say that I work on them when there in dock and never sail with them, however I do travel around the country meeting the ships in different ports.

They also fall under ATEX classification if that makes a difference to what people would charge as well.

Also, I'm not a one man band I have 7 guys and vans, offices etc so all the overheads to take into consideration as well.

Many thanks

difficult call. first, how much do you pay your guys per hour? say it's £15, then you need to charge the customer £30. as a ball park figure.

Hi telectrix,

Many thanks for your reply, to be honest what you've just said is exactly what I pay and charge, it just makes me doubt myself when I occasionally have to call in the manufacturers of certain equipment on these ships who charge stupid money for the same stuff I work on every day.

For example I am meeting the engineer of one of these manufacturers on site tomorrow to look at a fault on an industrial boiler and they are charging me £120 an hour with a minimum 8 hour charge!! And they wanted paying upfront!!!

OK, so the market will stand a lot more than i suggested. whack your rates up to £60/hour with a min> of 4 hours. anything over 4 hours to be charged as a full day.