Discuss Whats the deal with drills now, any ideas? in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

S

stranded

Evening all,

Been having a look at cordless drills for a while now. Im only starting out, so this will be my first :grin:.

Im probably going to go with Makita(i think)... but the thing is...

The new Li-ion ranges are out across Bosch, De-walt, Hilti etc etc, then there are the old Ni-Cd's.

I have read mixed reviews, benefits and problems of the new Li-ion batteries and drills. More power and longer lasting seems to be a benefit, but some of them dont have the "stop from running completley dead feature", because apparently if you run them completley dead, they dont function right again, oh and i looked at the price of a 3.0ah 18v for a makita drill on screwfix, and its £149.99, for the battery?! I can get a Makita drill, with two Ni-Cds, 18v on screwfix for 99.99, that charges in 30mins? Then, they say that the Ni-Cds have a memory effect which effects their charge capacity?

Seems a hell of a lot to consider.... Anyone used Ni-cds or/and Li-ions, whats your experience, and what do you reckons worth doing?

Cheers,

Mike.

Last edited by a moderator:
Re: Surley im not the only one that thinks this about drills?!

I have an Ni-Cd drill and a Li-On impact driver. Next drill I get will definitely be Li-On.
I reckon you'll have a job getting the batteries to run completely flat, which is good for Li-On, bad for Ni-Cd.
The batteries have always been the expensive bit, hence why it makes sense to get all the same make and same voltage cordless stuff.

if your handy with a soldering ion then go for makita nicad/ni-mh

if you unscrew the batteries packs when they die you can desolder and solder in new batteries and its as good as new.