Discuss Who can test? in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

R

Ricky davis

I am a qualified electrician to 2330 level 3, I also have the 17th edition qualification. But since qualifying about 5 years ago and through my apprenticeship I have worked in a industrial setting as electrical engineer. I am responsible for new instalations aswell as maintaining and repairing machinery electrically. I would consider myself a competent person.

About 2 years ago my mum had a fault with her consumer unit and I replaced it for her. I tested for my own peace of mind but didn't complete any paperwork. She is now selling her house and the surveyor has noticed it's a new board and is wanting certification for it. I am capable of completing the paperwork but I want to know is if I am allowed according to regulation. The information I have found online says competent person which I believe means I am ok to do the testing??

Any person competent to do so may test and complete a certificate. A new consumer unit also requires notifying to building control under the building regulations.

If you go the LBC route shouldn't they be notified before hand? And they may require a 3rd party to test and certify.

Ok, thanks. I probably should have done more research before installing. So my job only includes a bit of testing and I have never had to notify building regulations how do I go about that? It's been a while since I completed a test certificate but I'm ok with the testing and completing the paper work side of things

It's way too late to notify BC in any conventional way, this should have been done at the time. Your best bet is to come clean to BC and see what they say about it, they may offer a simple solution to gain the correct certificate. But the place to start is with an EICR, you can't really issue an EIC now!!