Discuss Who is the best to register with ? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

They're all rubbish and they all let in unqualified, inexperienced people. I kid you not its all a big scam. Just because you are part of a competent persons scheme doesn't mean anything. We register because we have to!

I think that they are all as bad as each other and just trying to make as much money as possible !

I have been an NICEIC approved contractor for over 25 years and they were OK in the early days, but now just keep trying to sell you insurance, training, tools etc

Well then i'll just take the cheapest option . personally i think niceic have advertised themselves as the "be all and end all" of domestic electrical which is unfortunately BS , I have a 2391 cert and tbh thought it was my ticket to prove that I am competent enough to put my signature on a cert , but since i've been doing the odd pj for mates building firms and they have been getting hassle for using a spark who is not affiliated when getting labc to sign off the job , i dont want to risk losing their business so i'm forced to either not bother or pay up .seems like the gas guys have it sorted

At one time or another I have had dealings with all the current registration bodies with the exception of Corgi and Stroma. The only one I would recommend is ECA/ELECSA as they are the only ones in my experience who are genuinely interested in the success of their members businesses. The helpline staff and assessors I have had contact with are all time-served sparks, not only do they know the regs but also the practical day-day stuff.

Last edited by a moderator:
Personally I see Elecsa as the weaker of the 3. I'm with NICEIC. They don't offer much assistance to be realy honest