Discuss Why are the Planets almost round? in the Electricians Chat - Off Topic Chat area at ElectriciansForums.net

Pete999

-
Esteemed
Arms
Reaction score
Go on take the Mick not bothered, I couldn't sleep last night so I got up and started watching some NASA documentary's, one described how some Scientists reasoned that the Earth and the Moon, along with other planets within our Solar System, were created by giant collisions millenniums ago, so to my question, how come Planets areas near spherical as you can get for something as big as they are, surely if they were created by collisions they would be ragged in appearance, but most appear to be spherical, what do you all reckon? A bit deep for an early morning thread, but hey ho.

:confused:I am no expert but I would think it's something to do with the earth being molten in it's early life and the earth spinning at a very fast speed.Everything gets thrown outwards into a perfect circle as it spins.:confused:

you're all wrong.

upload_2018-8-14_8-8-3.jpeg

Love minecraft... but that's taking the thread off at a tangent again....
that's the answer to pete's question. it's to provide tangents that makes the planets round. only a circle has tangents.

Everything gets thrown outwards into a perfect circle as it spins.

More like, these is so much mass, that everything gets crushed into a sphere. Doesn't really matter if it's spinning or not.

If there is enough mass to create enough pressure and heat to turn the middle into liquid, it will squidge* into a sphere under it's own weight.

* squidge = highly technical term!! :p

More like, these is so much mass, that everything gets crushed into a sphere. Doesn't really matter if it's spinning or not.

If there is enough mass to create enough pressure and heat to turn the middle into liquid, it will squidge* into a sphere under it's own weight.

* squidge = highly technical term!! :p