Discuss Why bother to register in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi guys

OK so here's my post I've been an electrician for some time and have worked both employed and self employed as most of you probably have.. I been with elecsa when they first started out and stroma. But as times moved on I don't want to do large installs.. I'm content with socket changes and light fittings etc.. So why should I bother joining a competant body scheme anymore. I'm not interested in fuse board changes or rewires. Am I reading the rules correct here. Or am I talking poo

Hi Taz - the CPS membership is most useful for the building regs Part P notifications to Council. If you aren't doing work that falls under Part P, then it's of limited value I guess.

there is a benefit to me to being registered with NICEIC, regardless of how many of the jobs that I do need notifying, it allows me to take work from insurance companies and is also required by other people who stipulate scheme membership(any of them) to do the repairs in properties, guess they look at it as a means of verifying you are not a complete plum. as you would have insurance, qualifications etc. it lets them cover their own backsides by saying the niceic said he was competent!

I was registered with a scheme, but since binned being a domestic sparks. I only did small works, which was mainly kitchen & bathroom refurbs and a few CU changes.

However, I don't see I could of done that (without being in a scheme), even discounting CU changes and the bathroom thing. Depends on your turn over perhaps. Schemes do have advantages, like tech support for the sole trader, on-line certification and the stupid little motif you can put on your van, business paperwork etc.