Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement

Discuss wire new kitchen ring socket & hob & central Heating - Hereford, HR1 in the Looking for Domestic Electricians? area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    Want to make kitchen in new place and need to rewire...
    Someone can advice me firstly if thats pics is ok??

    [​IMG]

    To the Central Heating will go 2.5mm
    To the hob will be 6mm to double pole switch above worktop then to connection unit under worktop
    all other will be on kitchen ring on separately circuit on consumer unit

    Some questions:
    1) OVEN can be on kitchen ring as showing on pic or should have separately circuit as well? some electrician told me its fine just to plug it into socket other one told me it have to be on own circuit...
    2) aplliances like washing machine, fridge, oven supplied with plug, tumble dryer, microwave and dishwasher can be just plug in to ring socket? or should be connected firstly to switch socket? (on my old kitchen all have separately switch socket but i dont know if its option or mandatory...)
    3) someone can say me what will be fair price for installing this kitchen?
    I want to prepare it for electrician (want make holes and fix plates, make tunnels for cables, drop cables to all sockets) so then electrician can just connect all cables, test it and certificate...

    If someone close Hereford can come advice and quote

    Regards
     
  2. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    1) OVEN can be on kitchen ring as showing on pic or should have separately circuit as well? some electrician told me its fine just to plug it into socket other one told me it have to be on own circuit...best on own circuit
    2) aplliances like washing machine, fridge, oven supplied with plug, tumble dryer, microwave and dishwasher can be just plug in to ring socket? or should be connected firstly to switch socket? (on my old kitchen all have separately switch socket but i dont know if its option or mandatory...) FCU or 20A D/P switch above worktop is advisable for easy access isolation but not obligatory.
    3) someone can say me what will be fair price for installing this kitchen? impossible to tell without seeing it and determining what accessories you want (plastic/brushed or chrome/etc.

    you'll be hard pushed to find an electrician willing for you to do so much of the work. generally, letting you do the chasing and maybe assist installing cables is acceptable to most.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  3. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Regarding your oven plugging in.
    It's is a recommendation only that any appliance/load 2kw or over is supplied via its own dedicated circuit rather than being plugged into the ring final circuit.
    As it's a kitchen with a number of appliances being connected to the ring I would have the oven on it own dedicated circuit as telectrix has pointed out.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  4. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    i'd also have fridge and freezers/s on separate radial circuit with RCBO to eliminate the risk of defrosting caused by a loss of supply due to a fault on the socket circuit.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  5. Vortigern
    Offline

    Vortigern Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    England
    Business Name:
    F.H. Electrical
    Seems like a high load for a ring final circuit.
     
  6. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    i'd have 2 circuits for sockets. maybe 4mm radials.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Op why do you require a 2.5mm to the boiler?
    Or is it a water heater?
     
  8. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Maybe a good idea to get a competent spark involved NOW and find one is part P registered
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  9. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    It is boiler...
    I dont need really as i read its enough 1.5mm it should be fine 1mm too but at the moment in old kitchen is 2.5mm and it is only 3 meters from consumer unit so was thinking about 2.5mm
     
  10. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ 1 mm will not comply with the regs
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  11. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Why?
    Has a 3 amp fuse in the spur.
    Or do you mean manufacturers instructions?
     
  12. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    I think its to do with the minimum size for a power circuit being 1.5mm
     
  13. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Define power tho.
    It's a poor definition in my opinion.
    1mm is more than adequate
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  14. Des 56
    Offline

    Des 56 Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    Gliese 581C
    I completely agree with you Ian
    I have considered it as nothing but silliness thats been the motive behind such a stupid regulation
    Edit to add
    Even a lighting circuit consumes power
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  15. telectrix
    Online

    telectrix Scouser and Proud of It Trusted Advisor

    Location:
    cheshire/staffordshire
    Business Name:
    Telectrix
    think the intention of the regs. was to stipulate a min. of 1.5mm for a socket circuit, but as usual, not made clear and thus ambiguous.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  16. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    you won't find any of the motorised valves or the pump wiring in 1.5mm flex that's for sure on these pre wired s plan tanks already made up by the manufacturers as it's untimely not necessary
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
  17. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ the circuit to the heating FCU needs to be 1.5mm....... What's down stream of the fcu doesn't have to be 1.5mm
     
  18. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    For what reason?
    For a circuit which is lucky to pull an amp.
     
  19. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^

    Just going by table 52.3 page 134 BYB ....
     
  20. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    Yeah I appreciate that.
    Just don't agree, I would say it's a poor use of the word '"power"
    Every circuit uses power
     
  21. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    Ah yes, the delights of the poorly written bs 7671

    On the basis the a boiler is not a light, then I would say the 1.5 mm minimum applies....:)
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  22. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    But a boiler has a light on it! :D
     
    • Funny Funny x 1
  23. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ my 3 kW panel heater had a light on it... Can I put this on 1 mm?
     
  24. Ian1981
    Offline

    Ian1981 Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    North east
    3kw is 13 amps
    1mm is 16 amps clipped direct.
    You do the maths :mtongue::)
     
  25. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    I have few quotes already about sockets probably will be:

    1st circuit: 6mm cable for induction hob
    2nd circuit: 6mm cable for oven (6mm is not needed at the moment but maybe in future - electrician suggestion)
    3rd circuit: will be central heating boiler
    4th circuit: For all other appliances ring sockets

    Think it be fine??

    Someone can advise also if I need electrician to do celiling lights?
    I read on many website "any electrician works in bathrooms and kitchen have to be done by electrician as is soecial places under part p" but on:
    Building regulations approval - GOV.UK - https://www.gov.uk/building-regulations-approval/when-you-dont-need-approval
    Is as not needed aproval
    • new power and lighting points, or changes to existing circuits (except around baths and showers)

    For changing light by electrician i will get also certificate??
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2017
  26. Wilko
    Offline

    Wilko Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Berkshire
    Business Name:
    Wilko Electrics
    Hi - depending on the hob 6mm is likely good and having a second circuit for ovens also supports this nicely as suggested.

    All electrical works need to conform to BS7671 and Building Regulations, whether your Local Building folks need to see it or not. So my recommendation is have your Electrician do your lights and place the responsibility in one place - safe, certified and warranted.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  27. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    Hi again, as I moving kitchen to other room and as stated above should be seperate circuit for oven, hob, and ring socket I dont have space to connect it directly to exist consumer unit:
    [​IMG]

    I have COOKER what its fine
    I have sockets kitchen its fine
    Needed space for HOB and SHED (I want add shed also)

    One electrician said is not a problem and he can add "smoke detector & bell" to "LIGHTS DOWNSTAIRS" - to make a space for a HOB
    He can also connect new "SHED" to "WATER HEATER" (water heater is not used anymore i have connected there 1 light in utility room where before was water heater)

    Other electrician say is not good and he dont put 2 things in 1 circuit...

    It will be fine if he connect circuits together or it is possible to run new cable from main switch directly to the consumer unit shed?
    Cable can go directly to the shed or should be firstly connected to the MAIN consumer unit??

    I asked last electrician about this he said it should be fine but he need to double check on some paperwork...

    I mean put the cable from this switch, it is of course after electric meter...

    [​IMG]

    Of course shed consumer unit will be double pole protected:

    [​IMG]
     
  28. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    You need to find a reliable, local electrician via recommendation....
     
  29. Adryjaan
    Offline

    Adryjaan EF Member

    Location:
    Hereford
    As i said i asked few electrician they been in the house and everybody will connect it on different way!!
    Thats why i just looking for advice....
    Is problem to advice with this online??
    I cant belive how everybosy want to do different things
     
  30. Murdoch
    Offline

    Murdoch Electrician's Arms

    Location:
    Woking
    ^^ have you ever got the same answer from a group of Economists?

    and yes people will have different approaches..... I ONLY give advise I'm happy with when I've seen a job first hand
     
    • Like Like x 1
  31. valleybilly
    Offline

    valleybilly Scuber Do

    Location:
    Manchester
    Dedicated curcuits for appliances over 2kw is a recomondatin App15 and not a reg ! If this was the case then all dishwashers need the same FFS
     
    • Like Like x 1
    Last edited: May 12, 2017
Loading...
Similar Threads - wire kitchen ring Forum Date
Need heros!!! Just moved in and need Rewire, kitchen, utility and bathroom updating... Looking for Domestic Electricians? Aug 7, 2017
Domestic Advice on replacing consumer unit and DIY rewire of kitchen DIY Electrical Forum Jul 13, 2017

Share This Page

  • Electricians Directory Post a Domestic Job Post a Commercial Job