Discuss Wiring A Three Phase Contactor With 24v Coil in the Commercial Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Morning gents, Im trying to find a wiring diagram for a three pole (three phase) contactor, using a 24v coil. Ive found plenty with a 240/415v coil but none with a 24v coil. Im assuming theyre both very simular, only difference being you'd have to pick up your 24v from a different source instead of L1. Any help would be great. Im new to contactor controlled circuits so be gentle with me please.

The only difference is your not picking your coil power up off your actual supply as is common, you just have a independent control circuit powered from a 24v ac or dc supply. As for wiring diagrams then you may struggle as your control can vary so much in how you start it, stop it, limits, etc etc .. their will be plenty of basic examples out their but they may not match your set-up but will help you.
This is the nearest i can find to suit you...

Wiring A Three Phase Contactor With 24v Coil {filename} | ElectriciansForums.net

It clearly a 1ph motor but that shouldn't phase you here (see what I did there lol)... just pretend its a 3ph motor 1ph per pole.

you've just about answered it, the control part of the circuit just needs to be 24v, just use a transformer with the primary side of it fed from the 3 phase you're using

you've just about answered it, the control part of the circuit just needs to be 24v, just use a transformer with the primary side of it fed from the 3 phase you're using

You'll need a PSU rather than a transformer here, as a transformer will not give 24v DC without some form of rectifier.

You'll need a PSU rather than a transformer here, as a transformer will not give 24v DC without some form of rectifier.