Posting a message to the forum will remove the above advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Discuss Wiring Plugs and lights in to garage. in the DIY Electrical Forum area at ElectrciansForums.co.uk.

Please make sure you checkout our forum sponsors, many do discounts for members and, they keep the forum free to use.
  1. John Sheehan

John Sheehan New EF Member

Hi, I am in the process of converting my garage in to a living space and am just after confirming I am configuring the plugs and lights correctly before going ahead. I will be getting it all tested by a qualified electrician once completed, but am looking to do the work myself. I am competent with running wiring and ensuring connections are secure etc as am an IT technician by trade so know my way around cabling generally.

There is already an electrical connection coming in to the garage from the main fuse box in the house so I will be using this. I'll be having 2 bog standard ceiling lights with individual switches, and 2x2way plug sockets. There will be a tumble dryer in there and likely 2x500w oil heaters and then general tv, xbox, phone charger etc. I've been looking at the following consumer unit:

Axiom Metal 17th Edition Amendment 3 Garage Consumer Unit - https://www.toolstation.com/axiom-metal-17th-edition-amendment-3-garage-consumer-unit/p24537

Would this be sufficient/appropriate for my needs?

As far as wiring, my plan was to run the 2 lights off of the 6a, and then the 2 plugs off of the 32a fuse. I've drawn a very basic diagram here :

[​IMG]

The other real question I would like to confirm is what cable rating I would need for all of this? Would any twin and earth be sufficient? This for example:

Twin & Earth Cable (6242Y) Grey - https://www.toolstation.com/twin-earth-cable-6242y-grey/p26103

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    John

layout.png

2. telectrix