Discuss working on a cruise ship? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

adam2601

Hi there,
I am coming out of my apprenticeship very soon, which will leave me too do my am2 to become qualified ,
where do i stand if I was wanting to have a gap year working among the ships, would i have to be qualified even to go on as some sort of electrical mate? eg doing the cabin lighting etc, or would i have to be qualified for that, obviously you need like a hnd of some kind to work as a full electrician i assume? if anybody could get back to me and tell me where i stand that would be brilliant
thanks,
Adam

Cabaret singer maybe? Can't offer any help sorry, but at least this has bumped the thread up! Daz

Why would you need a HND to work as a fully qualified electrician. By the way electricians on ships need a different qualification, at least they did when I enquired about it years ago.

Why would you need a HND to work as a fully qualified electrician. By the way electricians on ships need a different qualification, at least they did when I enquired about it years ago.

Minimum qualification now for an Electro Technical Officer at sea is a HND, general electricial work such as changing lamps etc are done by Fillipinos or other cheap labour nationalities

You need to be assessed by the MCA and would need an ENG 1 Seafarer Medical, Medical First aid training, fire fighting training and some other seafaring courses. You could possibly work as a motorman in the engine room. Check out the MCA website. MCA is Maritime Coastguard Agency by the way.

Reply to working on a cruise ship? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

OFFICIAL SPONSORS